A whole lot of painting going on…

Paintinggoing on 

Way back yonder I dragged this steal of a deal home from an antique store. It was painted a lemony yellow…not a color that will blend with my new decorating direction.

First coat of the Annie Sloan chalk paint in Old White applied…several more steps to go before she's finished. Didn't even use a drop cloth!!! Please don't tell my hubby…he's away on a business trip which is why I can get away with such antics.

He's a rule follower….big time. I know I give him headaches. A lot.

 Paintinggoingon

When he starts a project, he sticks with it until its completed.

Me? Well…here's a good example. Paint swatches randomly slapped on our walls have graced our abode for longer than I want to admit. {but on a redeeming note, i've made my decision and the paint is in the garage waiting for the painters to come. the painters i haven't hired yet, that is…}

I needed time to think about it. Plus, the wheels in my brain spin constantly. And before the ideas disappear I sort of need to mark my spot. That way I'll have a visual reminder of what I was thinking about earlier.  

Painting goingon

Let me illustrate…midstream while painting the hutch, I wondered in my spinning brain if I should paint out the two curio cabinets in the dining room as well.

So I just slapped a little of the Old White Annie Sloan paint on one of 'em just to take my idea for a test run, so to speak.

Painting going on2 
Thankfully I like the way it will look with the dining room chairs I'm painting out. So what was my plan B if plan A didn't work? I don't know. My brain spinners never got that far……….LOL!

What I won't show you, is that in this same room, there is a wall filled with paint swatches in various shades of muted/frenchy/robin eggs blue…the new color direction for this room.

Some {all?} of you are horrified right now, aren't you? Don't be. It always works out. Usually. Just ask my dolly friend who lives in the curio cabinet I randomly slapped some paint on as stood idly by watching…Painting going on 

And often times during this latest painting spree, I'll head up to my art room and go to class.

Paintinggoingon2 
My recently cleaned up table is now back to its messy usual self. But that's okay because I am thoroughly ENJOYING Christy Tomlinson's She Art online class. Fun. Fun. Fun.

Paintinggoingon3 
I adore her style…and her videos are so well done…for my first attempt, I'm using an 11×14 canvas board I just happened to have in my stash.

Paintinggoingon6 
There are still lots more layers and techniques that will be applied before I'm finished with this board. I just happen to have a frame that will work perfectly for this canvas…

…and you guessed it….it needs to be painted first.

But I always put down protective covering when I'm painting frames. I mean, duh. Did you think I didn't know any better?!!

Are you a rule follower, bender, ignorer, or a hybrid mix? Pray for me, okay?!

Xo, Sue

 

About Sue@MyArtsDesire

Married to my high school sweetie...mother to three children and two have flown the nest. Enjoy all things vintage, flowers/gardening, nature, photography, collecting, crafty-artsy pursuits, reading, fluffing our nest, traveling, laughing, sunshine, and people. And more. My Christian faith is the bedrock of my being.
This entry was posted in decorating, Handpainted, mixed media, painting furniture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A whole lot of painting going on…

  1. Sheila says:

    Sue, I love what you’re doing, and you are my kind of painter! πŸ™‚
    You go, girl!
    XO,
    Sheila πŸ™‚

  2. Haha! This was cute, Sue! Love how those gorgeous chairs are turning out!! Show us the robin’s egg blue some time. Mmmm! Love your eclectic, random approach to your painting. You know it suits me to a tee!!

  3. jill says:

    I have stuff sitting around all the time half done waiting for the ideas that are swirling…more for me, though, they really get pushed back. I love that you just paint up samples everywhere. I do however use drop cloths, yes, because I can get distracted and I won’t say sloppy because I’m not, but I can/do have accidents. Oh, that would be clumsy wouldn’t it? Isn’t nice to have curio girl know you so well? I think your art class sounds wonderful, may have to check it out sometime! Can’t wait to see your final piece and keep posting of the process, this is fun.

  4. ~*~Patty says:

    thank you for the smiles and giggles dear Sue
    I must say what you’re doing seems perfectly normal to me and just look at the great results you get coloring outside the lines…keep up the wonderful work and play!!!!
    happy weekend to you and yours!
    oxo

  5. Zuzu says:

    OMGosh, Sue. This is soooo cool. Wish I could go at things the same way you do, but according to Hubby (who is home all the time), there are only two seasons in the Colorado high country. Winter and Painting season. It’s still Winter here, but I have a ton of painting projects planned, including painting the armoire a muted/frenchy/robin eggs blue. Would love to know what swatch you’ve chosen.
    I’ll be back to see how you’re doing.
    Hugs,
    Zuzu

  6. Beverly says:

    You always amaze me. Hurry up so you can come do some pretty things at my house, too.β™₯

  7. hahahahhh! It’s the only way to do art….here, there, over there….oh another idea….gotta do this now……….I love it! Until I have to clean it up or have company over:) Your She art is soooo cute! she has bloomers!!! And your photo doll’s quote….priceless! Just like you Sue! Sending Love! Keep painting…..whatever whenever, k?!

  8. Sheila says:

    Sue, I love your doll’s comments. That’s a riot. I hate to think what my toys would say about me. It’s a good thing I have their mouths gagged. πŸ˜‰
    Can’t wait to see where the new look takes you…
    XO,
    Sheila πŸ™‚

  9. Beverly says:

    Knock, knock! I am in need of a “Sue fix”. β™₯

Leave a Reply

