Texture Tuesday at Kim Klassen Cafe

Redbudweb 
Oh YIPPEEE SKIPPEEEE!

Been so busy catching up on real life [meaning less computer time] that I almost missed the news about Kim's newest inspiring adventure, TEXTURE TUESDAY!

I'm also known to spend way too much time out of doors once Spring hits my hometown. Like it's done! The above photo is one of my favorite of favorite trees…The Red Bud tree.

After applying a couple of Florabella actions, I added five layers of Kim's textures:

~scratches, 2 brushed linens, just golden, and an all time favorite, grey day!  

Copy of IMG_5033 
Thought I'd show the original pic before I applied the textures. It wasn't that long ago that I knew "zero" about Photoshop, and even less about adding textures to a photo. But both of those changed when I happened across Kim's blog! I took a couple of her online classes and a whole new world of fun was discovered.

If you've ever wanted to learn Photoshop {any of the versions}, I have, and will continue to highly recommend Kim's classes. There's even a free one to get you started. Just click on this link and you'll find the listing of classes on her sidebar.

Scabiosa-pincushion4 
Dragged home from the greenhouse a few pots of these adorable flowers to add to my flower beds last week. They are called Scabiosa, or more commonly known as the Pincushion flower.

Kim Klassen textures that I used: just blush, mona, sepia scratched, and 3 layers of softly. {also used a texture from flickr from boccacino}.

Head over to this post and check out all the other players in Texture Tueday and be inspired!

About Sue@MyArtsDesire

Married to my high school sweetie...mother to three children and two have flown the nest. Enjoy all things vintage, flowers/gardening, nature, photography, collecting, crafty-artsy pursuits, reading, fluffing our nest, traveling, laughing, sunshine, and people. And more. My Christian faith is the bedrock of my being.
This entry was posted in digital design, digital images, flowers, Inspiration, photography, PSE textures, texture tuesdays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Texture Tuesday at Kim Klassen Cafe

  1. so beautiful- all of it and I love your banner- so pretty!

  2. julie says:

    Your first image is stunning! Great capture & the texture just makes it! 🙂

  3. Kim Klassen says:

    oh you… i just love you!! thank you for the sweetness… and oh my… these are so pretty… ‘sigh’…
    i’m so excited to see spring here… but I will soak up a little of yours…. while i wait..
    xxo, Kim

  4. Melaine says:

    Great work. Wonderful colors. Wish I had a blossom to behold in my yard. I will have to wait another 30 days or so it seems. 😉 Happy Tues.

  5. Vonda says:

    Beautiful! Sounds like we have the same story–Kim is my hero:). Your blog is just wonderful!

  6. Elaine says:

    I love Pink Trees :~) And I love how you combined the actions with Kim’s textures! The yellow blossoms in the background add a lovely bit of sunshine! I’m just waiting for the the weather to improve here in Portland, too, and then I will be out all day with my camera :~)

  7. Mrs. Magpie says:

    Girl, you are talking a foreign language here, but I love it! What gorgeous photos. You are a marvel.
    One (actually two) more things we have in common… I adore red bud trees and spring! I also adore your photos.
    XO,
    Sheila 🙂

  8. Lesley says:

    Lovely work, your images are so pretty!

  9. jill says:

    Beautiful!!! I won’t even think about how much fun you are having outside. We had a red bud tree and sadly, it died. You really gave the photo a surreal feel with great depth. Happy gardening!!!

  10. Lynn says:

    Hi Sue, I love them both so much, and again , through you, I have found another new flower I love for my garden, which is just a flat space right now. I can’t wait until we can get some landscaping done. You have some beautiful flowers in your garden and your work always inspires me.
    Love your blog header btw 🙂
    Thank you for visiting my texture tuesday, this is going to be fun.

  11. ~*~Patty says:

    ooo redbuds blooming already…lucky you!
    your photos are sheer magic
    I am hoping one day to unclutter my brain and jump into one of Kim’s classes…you know I did sign up and then my world fell apart and there you have it…timing is everything AND Kim is definitely THE teacher for me
    thank you dear Sue
    I have some white Scabiosa in the garden and adore the violet blue too…hoping they return again this year
    Lovely new blog header…you are a PS Queen my Lady!
    oxo

  12. brenda says:

    Such a great texture combination on the red bud! Love the warmth the processing adds. =)

  13. Beverly says:

    I love these. And, that is it. You need to come over right now and teach me to be smart like you.♥

  14. Love, love, love pictures with textures added. Makes me feel like I could just walk into the picture!! Your flowers are gorgeous! Thanks for the recommendation.

  15. Connie says:

    Oh my! I just sat and stared at your beautiful photos! And I love it that you told us what textures you used. I’m going to have to copy, I mean try those on my own. I don’t know anything about actions and I’m not sure my old PSE will handle them. Now I can’t wait until something blossoms around here.
    Thanks for beautifying my morning!

  16. Sheila says:

    Hi, Miss Sue! I’m back to let you know that Mr. Magpie also loved your artwork with this post. He thought it was neat.
    XO,
    Sheila 🙂

  17. Linda Jo says:

    I love all of these! That pincushion flower would be great as a greeting card!!! You should look into doing that! (and then send me one…or sell them in etsy – an even better idea) hee hee

  18. Air Jordans says:

    Words have a magical power. They can bring either the greatest happiness or deepest despair; can transfer knowledge from teacher to students words enable the orator to sway his audience and dictate its decisions .Words are capable of arousing the strongest emotions and prompting all man’s actions , Do not ridicule the use of words in psychotherapy.

Leave a Reply

