My First Tag Swap: Dorothy

ooops…this post was left sitting in my typepad folder just before i ran away to the mountains with my family…just needed to add a few url links before I pushed publish…

 071 copy

Yessiree,…my first tag swap! Karla was the hostess and I can only imagine the amount of time that went into coordinating this event! The glittery shoe you see in the above photo was an embellishment trinket, along with a cover tag Karla made and attached to the six tags I received. If you haven't guessed already, the theme was Dorothy/Wizard of Oz!

Here are some collage-type peeks of the fronts and some of the backs that were in my package…

Dorothy tag swap 
click your heels together on any photo to enlarge!

 1. Cover tag by Karla Nathan   2. A button on the back of tag made by Nicole Kohmescher  3. A back view of the tag made by Karla   4. Tag made by Sandy O'Donavon   5. Tag made by Elizabeth Streeter   6. Tag by Nicole Kohmescher {not sure if all are bloggers but I included blog links of those that referenced a blog}Dorothy Tag Swap 2 
1. Tag by Amy Pytlik   2. Scottie dog on Karla's tag   3. Tag by Kathy Semrick   4. Tag by Karla Nathan   5. Back of Amy's tag   6. Back of Kathy's tag

Because I won a contest on Karla's blog of guessing how many corsages she scored while galavanting across Texas, my prize for winning came in the package containing my tags for the swap. A red poppy corsage, how appropriate was that?!

103 
It was attached to a book page from an old, old rendition of The Wizard of Oz with all my tags tucked inside. Adorable!104 
A view of the book page on the reverse side…isn't that a great old font?

Of course, the red poppies, unbeknownst to Karla are near and dear to my heart as they remind me of the red {and blue} poppies I used to sell as a little girl to help raise monies for Veterans…

120 
So thank you Karla, not only for the great old millinery corsage but also for reminding me of a sweet memory from my childhood! My father was a Disabled American Veteran from WWII so patriotism and gratitude for the cost of our freedom was something I learned at a very early age.

Below are a couple of shots of the tags I made. Incidentally, they are tacked to an old piece of tin ceiling with a magnet. I have a couple of the larger pieces of tin that I use for inspiration boards in my big old messy crafty room.

Copy-of-Copy-of-038 
The scarecrow is showing the back of my tags…Copy of 050 
I sandwiched a vintage key between the front and back of my tag to use as a nontraditional "hole" for threading through some string/ribbon/etc. Sewed to the skirt is an old optometrist lens with a quote glued to the underside. And to borrow an old trick from the Wizard himself, "PAY NO ATTENTION TO THE MESSY RED STITCHING!"

Like I mentioned, this was my first tag swap and hopefully not my last. It was so fun to get artwork from other talented people! Here's a link to the post on Karla's blog to see more of the tags that were made for this swap. It's also a great reference/post on how to host a swap!

About Sue@MyArtsDesire

Married to my high school sweetie...mother to three children and two have flown the nest. Enjoy all things vintage, flowers/gardening, nature, photography, collecting, crafty-artsy pursuits, reading, fluffing our nest, traveling, laughing, sunshine, and people. And more. My Christian faith is the bedrock of my being.
This entry was posted in Swap and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My First Tag Swap: Dorothy

  1. Mrs. Magpie says:

    You girls are AWESOME! What neat, NEAT tags, Sue! Yours and theirs! And what a fun corsage. I wish I could do something like this. I am inept at crafts. These are not only fun, but they are so artistic. Love them!
    XO,
    Sheila 🙂

  2. Beverly says:

    I’ve always wanted to participate in one of Karla’s swaps, but I’m always intimidated by all of the talent. And, rightfully so. Just look how gorgeous these are. You always amaze me!

  3. ~*~Patty says:

    Oh My Dear ~ what a lot of fantastic eye candy!!!
    What you received is WOW and I adore every single detail on your tags Sue! Great use of your keys … just wonderful to behold! Lucky swappers to receive anything from you! and your red poppies touched my heart so sweetly too!
    oxo

  4. Terri Kahrs says:

    Sue, what a grrrr-eat first tag swap!!! Each and every one of them is beautiful eye candy. And I adore your contribution too. BTW, your messy red stitched are fabulous, Darling!!!! Hugs, Terri xoxo

  5. Wendy Wirth says:

    Those are some really cute tags.

  6. Jill says:

    This looks like a lot of fun! Hope you’re having a great time on your trip!

  7. Gaaaaaaaaaaa! Your tags!!!!!!!! What an absolute treat:) Thanks for sharing……..and as for your next mountain view post……looks so marvelous! BUT you know what Dorothy would say….”There’s no place like home!” Welcome back to the rat race dear Sue!xoxox

  8. Wow, wow, wow! What a great swap!

Leave a comment